Public Work Department




The PWD (Housing ) is headed by a Chief Engineer with Headquarter at Kohima. There are one Additional Chief Engineer. 1(one) Superintending Engineer (Design) 2(Two) Superintending Engineer Circle No. I and No. II with Headquarter at Kohima. There are 7 (Seven) Working Division to cope up Civil works and 1(One) Estate Officer at Mokokchung and 1(One) Asstt. Estate Officer at Tuensang to maintain the Estate affairs of Government quarter at Mokokchung and Tuensang. The Engineering wings under other Civil Department are under the Administrative and Technical control of PWD (Housing). However, the Budget control is rest with the respective Department.



The PWD (Mechanical) was created in 1996-97 as a separate department with a view to facilitate better co-ordination and effective implementation of works undertaken by various departments requiring services of machinery and equipment. Also as a part of the amalgamation of the Engineering Services of the Soil and Water Conservation Department was placed with this new department.

The Department maintains the following machinery equipments;

Bull Dozers        - 45 Nos.

Road Rollers - 84 Nos.

Stone Crushers - 36 Nos.

Tipper Trucks - 5 Nos.

Trucks        -       42 Nos.

Wheel Laoders -      2 Nos.

Paver Finishers -      1 No.

Pot-Hole Repairing machine -1 No.

Excavators -    5 Nos.

Hot-Mix Plants - 3 Nos.

Air Compressors -     3 Nos.

Mobile Van -    2 Nos.

Beside the above, all the light vehicles of the Road and Bridges and Housing Departments are procured and distributed through this Mechanical Engineering Department.


The department caters to the need of the services of heavy earth-moving machinery and construction equipment of the Roads and Bridges and Housing Departments, and also of other Departments and Agencies as required by them on payment of hire charges.



The Engineer-in-Chief with Headquarter at Kohima heads the Road and Bridges, Housing and the Mechanical wings of the department. The Road and bridges department is headed by the Chief Engineer with Headquarter at Kohima. There are three (3) Zones which are headed by Additional Chief Engineer, which headquarters one each at Kohima, Mokokchung and Tuensang. The Additional Chief Engineer, Kohima is atteached to the office of the Chief Engineer, Kohima. The Department comprises of six (6) Circles under six Superintendent Engineers with headquarters at Mokokchung, Tuensang, Mon and three at Kohima. There are twenty four (24) Civil Working Divisions to cope up with the Civil Works. Apart form these Divisions there is one research laboratory Cell at Dimapur under the control of an Executive Engineer for research and testing of construction materials for roads and buildings. There is one Traffic Engineering Cell under the control of an Executive Engineer attached to the office of the Chief Engineer for study and control of Traffic regulations and road safety measures on different roads in the state and to suggest further improvement of intersection points, traffic signals etc. on existing roads. The National Highway No. 61 from Kohima to Amguri is looked after by the National Highway Divisions I & II under the direct supervision of one Superintendent Engineer (National Highway) at Kohima.